# I can't enable "Try Before You Buy" for my plugin?

**URL:** <https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974>\
**Category:** UXP Plugin API\
**Created:** [October 18, 2023, 12:56pm UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974 "2023-10-18T12:56:37Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![king\_anton](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/cab0a1/32.png) [@king\_anton](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/king_anton)\
**Post date:** [October 18, 2023, 12:56pm UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974/1 "2023-10-18T12:56:37Z")

</div>

I have a paid Photoshop plugin which is published on the Adobe marketplace.

Initially, I published it without a trial period. Now, I’d like to switch this setting to enable “Try Before You Buy.” However, it’s greyed out, in my Developer Dashboard, as you can see in this screenshot image:

 ![try before you buy 1](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex015/uploads/xdplugins/original/2X/1/15f1582766d84f80c0011444045602bdc617bc2c.png)

Is this something you’re not able to change yourself once your plugin gets published?

Can the Creative Cloud support team enable this setting, if I request it?

Thanks!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![king\_anton](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/cab0a1/32.png) [@king\_anton](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/king_anton)\
**Post date:** [October 18, 2023, 4:47pm UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974/3 "2023-10-18T16:47:41Z")

</div>

PS upon actually testing this “Trial Period” functionality for another plugin I found on the Adobe Creative Cloud marketplace, honestly I don’t think I even want to switch over to it.

The onboarding process felt VERY wonky. Adobe doesn’t apparently provide clear info to the users, as to how long the trial period is. It also apparently requires you to upload your own separate version of the plugin which is a distinct trial version? Then the user must take the initiative to install a SECOND version of the plugin, afer the trial period installs, which is the “PRO”/paid version?

Just felt like a very wonky process filled with friction. It would honestly seem easier to just, have the 1 version that people must pay for.

The ideal process would just be – install the plugin, don’t charge them anything for the first 30 days or whatever – then automatically start billing them once that 30 day period is up. That would be a much smoother + intuitive trial experience.

The current framework – with separate trial versions + paid versions, which users must switch between via the Creative Cloud dashboard – it’s just clunky.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Karmalakas](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex015/user_avatar/forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/karmalakas/32/1048_2.png) [@Karmalakas](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/Karmalakas)\
**Post date:** [October 19, 2023, 5:44am UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974/4 "2023-10-19T05:44:52Z")

</div>

> [@king\_anton](#):
>
> install the plugin, don’t charge them anything for the first 30 days or whatever – then automatically start billing them once that 30 day period is up

I thought that’s exactly how it works 😲 I don’t see a point of having two exact same plugins for trial and paid. If it really is what you say, I’ll just keep my free version with much less features then 😕

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![king\_anton](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/cab0a1/32.png) [@king\_anton](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/king_anton)\
**Post date:** [October 19, 2023, 4:54pm UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/i-cant-enable-try-before-you-buy-for-my-plugin/6974/5 "2023-10-19T16:54:39Z")

</div>

I believe it’s actually not quite as I initially thought it was. It sort of depends.

It looks like some users DO, indeed, create separate “trial versions” and “full access” versions of their plugins. This might be so they can have better control over the functionality that’s provided in the trial vs. full version.

However an Adobe employee I contacted explained to me that the free trial period should, indeed, work exactly like this: “install the plugin, don’t charge them anything for the first 30 days or whatever – then automatically start billing them once that 30 day period is up”

I’m still a bit confused about the different circumstances where the different scenarios apply, and really I think more documentation on this capability would be very useful for developers.
