# Save a document using batchPlay shows dialog when dialogOptions is silent

**URL:** <https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/save-a-document-using-batchplay-shows-dialog-when-dialogoptions-is-silent/8291>\
**Category:** UXP Developer Tool\
**Created:** [August 14, 2024, 11:20am UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/save-a-document-using-batchplay-shows-dialog-when-dialogoptions-is-silent/8291 "2024-08-14T11:20:04Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kibumh](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/9de0a6/32.png) [@kibumh](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/kibumh)\
**Post date:** [August 14, 2024, 11:20am UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/save-a-document-using-batchplay-shows-dialog-when-dialogoptions-is-silent/8291/1 "2024-08-14T11:20:04Z")

</div>

Hi there.  
I’m using the `batchPlay` API of the UXP plugin to automate some editing functions in Photoshop. After editing, I save the document using `batchPlay` API as well. This approach has worked well so far.  
Recently, I encountered the following dialog box while saving one document.

```txt
This document contains nested layer groups that may change in appearance if opened in applications older than Photoshop CS6.

```

According to the [`batchPlay` API document](https://developer.adobe.com/photoshop/uxp/2022/ps_reference/media/batchplay/#command-execution-options), the default value of `dialogOptions` is `silent`, so I expect no dialogs.  
I would like to know if this is intentional or a bug.  
Thanks in advance.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Jarda](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/flex015/user_avatar/forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/jarda/32/1909_2.png) [@Jarda](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/Jarda)\
**Post date:** [August 14, 2024, 7:06pm UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/save-a-document-using-batchplay-shows-dialog-when-dialogoptions-is-silent/8291/2 "2024-08-14T19:06:57Z")

</div>

Dialogs should follow dialogOptions. If that is set properly but feature ignores it… I used to report it to Tom Ruark and he fixed some of them. But Tom doesn’t work at Adobe anymore. And scripting is low priority for Photoshop. It might not be fixed anytime soon. You might need something pressing ESC key if script is stuck but that is easier said than done.

Or maybe there could be “do not show again” checkbox if you are lucky.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![kibumh](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/k/9de0a6/32.png) [@kibumh](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/u/kibumh)\
**Post date:** [August 16, 2024, 1:01am UTC](https://forums.creativeclouddeveloper.com/t/save-a-document-using-batchplay-shows-dialog-when-dialogoptions-is-silent/8291/3 "2024-08-16T01:01:06Z")

</div>

Thank you for your helpful reply.  
Luckily there was a ‘Do not show again’ checkbox this time, but it’s a hassle to check this on every instance of photoshop that installs the UXP plugin, so I’d love to see it fixed by adobe.  
Is there an official place to file a bug report to adobe? Is it here?
