Assistance Needed for Saving Photoshop Document to Use with AI APIs

Hello community,

I am relatively new to Photoshop plugin development, and I’m currently working on a project that involves integrating AI APIs. Specifically, I am aiming to save a Photoshop document as an image (JPEG format) so that I can feed it into a web API and receive responses.

Despite consulting the documentation and searching online, I have not been able to find up-to-date and relevant information on achieving this task. If anyone has experience or insights into this, I would greatly appreciate your guidance.

Any help, tips, or resources you can provide would be immensely valuable. Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Have you checked out this part of the documentation? It refers to the different options to save a Photoshop document, e.g. as JPG. You could for instance save it into the plugin’s data folder temporarily and send it over the network.

I’ve seen this section of documentation before, but I couldn’t use it. Perhaps it’s outdated or I’m not proficient enough in JavaScript to utilize it effectively (as I primarily use Python)

Gotcha. I might suggest then brushing up on just basic Javascript programming. You can find any number of great resources online, and people have posted links to good resources here in the forum in the past, which should be easy to find.

As for the task at hand, the particular documentation I referred to should be pretty up to date and there’s nothing magical about it. The documentation really just goes over the methods and properties of the DOM, i.e. the different objects you get access to via the API. Since you use Python I’m sure you’re familiar with object oriented programming.