Converting colors now has to be done in modal scope?

Prior to PS 23.4.1, we could just use the following descriptor to convert between color spaces:

{
    _obj: "convertColorToSpace",
    _target: { _ref: "application" },
    color,
    colorSpace: {
      _enum: "colorSpace",
      _value: colorSpace
    }

After the update, it now results in

convertColorToSpace may modify the state of Photoshop. Such events are only allowed from inside a modal scope

Is it a final decision that this now has to happen inside a modal scope, or did that happen on accident?
I don’t think it modifies the PS state (similar to a getter) :thinking:

Interesting, I just wrap all my code in a ExecuteAsModal model and don’t bother :joy: as I am still learning coding by doing :grinning:

Yes, that what I had to do here as a fix. However, it’s not really pretty, since executeAsModal runs the code you pass in the callback and returning something from a callback (to the outer function) requires you to return a promise instead which you can resolve in the callback. Here’s the new code:

async function convertColorSpace(color, colorSpace) {
  return new Promise((resolve) => {
    photoshop.core.executeAsModal(async() => {
      resolve(await photoshop.action.batchPlay([
        {
          _obj: "convertColorToSpace",
          _target: { _ref: "application" },
          color,
          colorSpace: {
            _enum: "colorSpace",
            _value: colorSpace
          }
        }
      ],{})[0].color)
    })
  })
}

As a consequence of that, I had to also make all other helper functions async that called this function and so on…

How exactly are you or anybody else doing that? I really find it annoying for debugging.

For example I can’t just set my layer visibility to false with:

const app = require('photoshop').app;
app.activeDocument.activeLayers[0].visible = false

Instead I am doing:

const ps = require('photoshop');
const executeAsModal = ps.core.executeAsModal;