Help with async functions needed

HI I am new to UXP and async functions in JavaScript. I am trying to convert some of my express script code to use UXP. I have the following function:
async function removeLayerComp(compList, compName){
var found = false;
var numElements = compList.length;
for (var count = 0; count < numElements; count++){
compLayer = compList[count];
CLname = compLayer.name;
console(CLname);
if(CLname == compName) {
await compLayer.remove();
found = true;
return found;
}
}
return found;

compLIst is a list of LayerComps from the current document, compName is the name of a Layer Comp I want to remove. When I run the function, it finds the correct Layer Comp by its name but when I go to remove it, it doesn’t. What am I missing?

Thanks
Bill

I’m not an expert. I just a guy playing around the UXP

But did you try to put it in the try-catch? and see the log?

If you see any error log related, then

And since this interacts with the document I think it needs to be put in the executeAsModal() ?

I have prepared removeLayerComp1, which is similar to your code, and removeLayerComp2, which is simpler.

Please pay attention to the points written as comments.

const { app, core } = require('photoshop') ;

async function removeLayerComp1(compList, compName) {
  let found = false ;

// Loop in reverse order as the index changes when an item is removed
  let numElements = compList.length ;
  for(let count = numElements - 1 ; count >= 0 ; count--) {
    const compLayer = compList[count] ;
    const CLname = compLayer.name ;
    console.log(CLname) ; // Use `console.log` instead of `console`

if(CLname === compName) {
      await compLayer.remove() ;
      found = true ;

/*
        Remove the `return` that was here to make it a function to remove multiple layer comps with the same name. 
        There is no need to use looping unless that is the purpose
      */
    }
  }

return found ;
}

// You can also use `getAllByName`, `Promise.all`, and `map`