Selection plugin

Good morning everyone,
I apologize if my questions seem trivial but I’m not an expert and I found little documentation and few topics on the subject. I would like this to be an opportunity to clarify the topic on the forum and give a clear answer to some questions that for amateurs like me are not obvious about photoshop plugins and selections using UXP.

Premise:
I’m making a photoshop plugin using UXP. The main purpose of the plugin is to return a selection to the user. I would like to develop it in two stages.

• Phase 1: I would like to create a plugin consisting of a panel with a button. On click the user must obtain a selection of the whole document. (As if running command+A)

• Phase two: I would like to add a numeric input to the panel with a minimum value of 0 and a maximum of 255. On click, the user must obtain a selection of pixels with luminosity equal to or greater than the input value.

Development and problems:
I tried to approach the problem with both a simple js plugin and a react plugin. I have read the documentation related to selections that can be found in the photoshop API (Classes > Selection).

https://developer.adobe.com/photoshop/uxp/2022/ps_reference/classes/selection/

I’m trying to execute selectAll() with something like :

const app = require('photoshop').app;
console.log("App: ", app)
const doc = await app.activeDocument;
console.log("Doc: ", doc)
const sel = await doc.selection.selectAll();
console.log("Sel: ", sel)

However I only get the first two console.logs
App: Photoshop {…}
Doc: Document {…}

If I try to run the command in the console
require('photoshop').app.activeDocument.selection
i get
undefined

If I try to run the command in the console
require('photoshop').app.activeDocument.selection.selectAll()
i get
Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read properties of undefined (reading 'selectAll') at <anonymous>:1:50