How to set up Typescript and ESLINT for UXP development in VSCode

After reading this post, I’ve decided to install Typescript and ESLINT.

So I’ve installed node and ESLINT:

I ran npm install eslint in the workspace folder.

I then run node_modules\.bin>eslint --init but it’s asking me this:

How would you like to use ESLint? · problems
What type of modules does your project use?
> JavaScript modules (import/export)
  CommonJS (require/exports)
  None of these

I think CommonJS is the correct choice, but I’m not entirely sure. Can someone give me a definitive answer on what to select here? I’ve read through this:

And it says this:

Node.js, however, supports the CommonJS module format by default. CommonJS modules load using require(), and variables and functions export from a CommonJS module with module.exports.

Since I see require statements in UXP JS files, my best guess is CommonJS. But I’m new to JavaScript and could be completely wrong.

Any help on what to choose would be extremely appreciated!

Thanks,
Jay

1 Like

If you’re new to JavaScript then using TypeScript might be a case of trying to run before walking.
For me personally, TS didn’t make much sense until I understood the underlying JS.
That said, I know people who’ve just learnt TS, but generally they came with prior experience of other strongly typed languages.

As for ESLint, if you’re using VSCode it’s easier to just install the ESLint extension

I also use ESLint extension for VSCode in Alchemist plugin. It is easier that way. alchemist/.eslintrc.js at master · jardicc/alchemist · GitHub

Hi!

This is a great question, but it’ll require a bit of explanation. I’ll try to keep it as short as possible.

First off, let me say that it’s definitely not wrong to use CommonJS. The full answer, especially if you want to use TypeScript, is a bit more complicated, though.

Transpiling