Interactions in plugin!

INTERACTIONS in plugin development is super cool to look into.

But in the documentation, they did not mention on how to include them in the plugin code.
For absolute beginners like me, It is bit confusing on where to include this piece of code .

should I include them in my development folder by creating a new file (on which format ? ) like we did for the " manifest.json" file or this must be included in the main.js itself.

What should I do to include interactions in my plugin.
Could anybody say a step by step process :slight_smile:

1 Like

interactions, first and foremost, is a module like, e.g., scenegraph, meaning you can “require” its contents (documented here) by using

const interactions = require('interactions');

Anywhere in your plugin’s JavaScript code.

I assume by

you refer to

// Get all interactions in the entire document (grouped by triggering node)
var allInteractions = require("interactions").allInteractions;

// Get interactions triggered by the selected node
var nodeInteractions = selection.items[0].triggeredInteractions;

// Get all interactions leading to a particular artboard
var artboard = ...
var interactionsToArtboard = artboard.incomingInteractions;

// Print out details of one particular interaction
var interaction = ...
console.log("Trigger: " + interaction.trigger.type + " -> Action: " + interaction.action.type);

(the snippet from the docs)?

If so, this is more pseudocode demonstrating how you could use the interactions module (e.g., the ..., could be whatever you want), meaning this is not to let you copy and paste it.

I’ll try to clarify the plugin file structure a bit since I believe this might help here:

A plugin has, at the very least, one JavaScript file (main.js) and its manifest.json. Any functionality will have to get handled by JavaScript (except the declarations of UI Entry points in your manifest.json), meaning also this happens in a JS file.