Help with Drag and Drop Functionality in UXP Plugin for InDesign

Hello Adobe InDesign Community,

I’m currently developing a plugin using the UXP template for React, and I’m encountering an issue with implementing drag-and-drop functionality. I’m fairly new to plugin development, and any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Objective: My goal is to allow users to select an object (like a rectangle) from the active document, drag it into a panel, and drop it onto a div element within my React component. Once dropped, the component should capture and display the ID of the dragged element.

Current Implementation:

• Click Event Handling: I can successfully retrieve the ID of a selected object through a click event and update the state as shown below:

const handleClick = () => { const selected = app.selection; const allSelectedIds = selected.map((item) => item.id); setIds(allSelectedIds); };

This approach works perfectly for capturing the IDs of selected objects, however, the same function in the drop event does not work.

• Drag and Drop Issues:
    • When attempting to drag an object from the InDesign document to the panel, the cursor turns to a “forbidden” indicator.
    • Drag and drop does not work at all, even for elements within the panel itself.
    • The onDragStart on elements inside my panel event almost triggers correctly (it does show console logs but does not update state correctly) but no other drag-related events (like onDragOver or onDrop) trigger any response—even a simple console log.

Troubleshooting Done:

• Tested the drag and drop in a standard web application context with other types of information, and it functions as expected.
  • The issue seems specific to the interaction between the InDesign document environment and the UXP panel.

Questions:

1. Are there specific restrictions or configurations in the UXP environment that I might be missing for drag and drop?