Hi from Sunny South West England!

Hiya!
I’m Tim and I’ve been a professional retoucher for over 20 years (including analogue retouching!).
I got into CEP and ExtendScript a couple of years ago when I basically taught myself HTML, CSS, JS, and ExtendScript in three months, whilst simultaneously building a CEP panel that semi-automated my then employer’s retouching pipeline.
I’ve been playing around with it ever since and am really excited to get stuck in to UXP.
Unsurprisingly, Photoshop is my main thing, but I have just finished building my first InDesign panel as a freelance developer.
Being self-taught, I often have quite glaring gaps in my knowledge, and have a tendency to write quite convoluted code, so please go easy on me!

2 Likes

Hi there! Happy to have you on board! Waving from a sunny part of Maryland today. It’s absolutely stunning out today.

I love stories like these – it proves that the work the team does to enable extensibility can span the gamut and even get people interested in writing code. Love it!

If you have questions about Ps, UXP, or anything really, let us know!

1 Like

Hey Kerri,
frankly speaking, I’m surprised it took me this long! I’ve dabbled with code since I got my first computer (an Amstrad 464) back in the late 80s, but never really mastered it, and definitely not to the extent of making an actual finished product. Like many people, I laboured under the illusion that you needed to be good at maths to code, and I wasn’t, so I didn’t.
Skip forward 25-30 years and I know a lot about Photoshop and get asked as Senior Retoucher if I could write an action that would use colour range to select a specific RGB value and apply as a mask.
As I said, three months later I released v1.0 of my panel, and it did a hell of a lot more than that color range/mask! That panel has now been processing approx 4,000 images a week for the last 2.5 years and increased productivity by well over 100% (turns out all those save operations really add up).